The Mystery of Bhakra

“The Mystery of Bhakra” sounds like a good title for a book or a movie, but actually, Bhakra is a tea time snack that’s a kind of biscuit/cake. And the mystery, is that I can’t remember where I first had it. It’s not something I remember having too often when I was young and living at home, but I knew exactly what they looked like, tasted like, so I must have had them somewhere at some time.

20161106_140218
Chopping onions? Wear eye protection.

Anyway, regardless of this mystery of the East, the other weekend, I had a bit of time on my hands so decided to do a bit of research and find a recipe and give them a try. My youngest daughter was home with me, and agreed to help, which was nice as usually they run off when I ask for help in the kitchen.

After finding a few recipes online, I went a bit freestyle and used my own interpretation / creativity / taste.

They turned out well, but didn’t have much of a uniform shape. I think that I should have used more plain flour to create more of  a dough that could be rolled, and cut into biscuit shapes. I’ll try that next time.bhakra

Ingredients

  • 0.5 cup of plain flour
  • 1 cup of semolina
  • 1 tbsp melted ghee
  • 1 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 0.75 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • Flat tbsp nutmeg powder
  • 4 crushed cardamom
  • 50grms ground almonds

Method

  1. Mix all of the ingredients together and knead into a dough.
  2. Leave the dough for a couple of hours
  3. For biscuit shapes, roll out the dough and cut into round shapes then place into hot oil to deep fry
  4. Or, for odd looking shaped cake things, just take small teaspoons of the mixture and deep fry in hot oil (which is what I did).
  5. Once they are golden brown, remove from the oil.
  6. Best when eaten warm with a cup of tea!

 

 

Leave a Reply

