Butter Chicken Curry

on

I don’t know if this is a Parsi dish, or has some other origins in Indian cooking. From what I’ve read it is a Southern Indian curry. Anyway, I’ve eaten it a few times and so decided to have a go at cooking it myself. Having done my research and found several recipes, I decided to use the elements from them that I liked the sound of (and that I had ingredients for in my cupboards).

It turned out pretty well, the family all enjoyed it, and I even managed to take photographs this time.

Ingredients

  • Chicken (enough for 6 people – I used 8 chicken breasts)
  • 1 large onion finely sliced or chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves crushed or finely chopped
  • 1 piece of ginger (or about 1 tsp of ground ginger)
  • Half tsp of chilli powder
  • 5 ground cloves
  • Half tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 4 ground cardamom seeds
  • 50g ground almonds
  • 200g natural yogurt (about a cup full)
  • 400g chopped tomatoes
  • Fistful chopped coriander
  • Ghee (or cooking oil)

Preparation

  • Fry the chopped onions in ghee for five minutes
  • Add the garlic for another minute
  • Add the spices and fry for another minute
  • Add the chicken and fry for another couple of minutes
  • Mix in the tomatoes, yogurt, cream and most of the coriander (save a little for garnishing)
  • Transfer it all into an ovenproof dish and cover with foil. Heat in oven at about 180°C for about an hour.

I served it with basmati rice, naan bread and poppadoms.

 

Leave a Reply

